Sly's Pianos

Rönisch Auckland Secondary Schools Piano Competition

Posted on

Sly’s Pianos is a proud sponsor of the annual Rönisch Auckland Secondary Schools Piano Competition.


  • The competition was established in 2008 by Bryan Sayer (Patron; former Head of Piano, University of Auckland), Warren Sly (Sly’s Pianos), and Glenn Easley (Global Piano Services).
  • The Rönisch Piano is provided by Warren Sly of Sly’s Pianos (purchased by Epsom Girls Grammar) and serviced by Glenn Easley of Global Piano Services. It is kept at the Raye Freedman Arts Centre, for the use of Epsom Girls Grammar and the competition.
  • Sly’s Pianos donates the prize money each year, totalling $2600
    1st prize $1500;
    2nd prize $750;
    3rd prize $350).
    Half the prize money goes to the student; the other half to the school’s music department.
  • Bryan Sayer remains the Patron of the competition.

    Karin Ho - 2011 Winner

    Karin Ho – 2011 Winner


  • 2015 is the eighth year of the competition. – Held at Raye Freedman Arts Centre, Epsom Girls Grammar School each year since inaugural year.
  • Designed to encourage excellence in piano playing at secondary school level, and offer high level competition and performance experience for students.
  • Schools are asked to nominate their top pianist to represent the school for the competition. Only one student per school may enter. Many schools now run their own internal competition to find the top representative.
  • Preliminary Round takes place on Saturday; six finalists are chosen by the adjudicator for the Final on Monday.

Previous schools and winners:

  • 30 different schools have entered the competition over the eight years (see list attached).
  • Prior winners include:
    • Jason Bae, 2008 (recent graduate of RAM; released own album)
    • Sylvia Jiang, 2010 (currently studying at Julliard School)
    • Delvan Lin, 2012 – The youngest winner aged 13 years old. (Winner of the 2015 Wallace National Piano Competition and 2014 Wallace National Junior Piano Wallace Competition).

Previous Winners and Adjudicators

Jason Bae 2008 Winner

Jason Bae 2008 Winner

Year Winner School Adjudicator
2008 Jason Bae Westlake Boys High School Bryan Sayer
2009 Lawrence Wong Macleans College Read Gainsford
2010 Sylvia Jiang St Cuthbert’s College Stephen De Pledge
2011 Karin Ho Diocesan School for Girls Katherine Austin
2012 Delvan Lin Kings College Michael Houstoun
2013 Arnold Lee Kings College Sarah Watkins
2014 Davyd Antipov St Peter’s College Stephen De Pledge
2015 Hyerim Lee Howick College John Wells

Previous Schools Entered:

ACG Parnell College
ACG Senior College
ACG Strathallan
Auckland International College
Alfriston College
Auckland Boys Grammar School
Avondale College
Baradene College
Botany Downs Secondary College
Carmel College
Corelli School
Diocesan School
Epsom Girls Grammar School
Glendowie College
Howick College
Kings College
Kristin School
Long Bay College
Macleans College
Massey High School
Mt Albert Grammar School
Mt Roskill Grammar School
Rangitoto College
Rutherford College
Selwyn College
St Cuthbert’s College
Saint Kentigern College
St Mary’s College
St Peter’s College
Takapuna Grammar School
Westlake Boys High School
Westlake Girls High School